Kapitel 7

 Här är kapitel 7, bättre sent än aldrig - igen. 

When we got off the plane, I seated myself as far away from Alec as possible. Sadly, that led to me sitting next to Felix, who kept poking me with his elbow and giving me funny looks. Normally, I would have laughed and shook my head at him, but know I was way too busy thinking about Alec. My feelings about him were everywhere and I couldn’t possibly concentrate. I tried to focus on the mission, but soon I found myself thinking about Alec; the way his hair moved in the wind or the way he looked at me when I said something he thought was funny. It was wrong to think about how happy he made me; I mean he was nowhere near suitable for me. But on the other hand, what made it so wrong? Jacob wasn’t here, he’d left me. And who said that Alec was so wrong? The commitment to Alec would just keep me closer to the Volturi, so Aro wouldn’t mind. But the question was if Jane would like it, and if Alec even liked me at all.

“Come on, sleepyhead” Felix said and winked at me before he grabbed my arm gently and helped me up from my seat. It was weird how Felix and I had become friends, or friend like at least. Felix was actually really nice when you got to know him. He wasn’t so hard and scary like the others, he was fun and light. How he ended up in the Volturi in the first place was something I wondered every day. Maybe he was left with no one like me, and just wanted a place to belong to.  

“Renesmee, you’re coming with me.” Alec’s voice hung in the air and I turned my head to him – forgetting every thought I’d just had in my head. Those red eyes looked at me and I was pretty sure he could see my soul, my spirit. This was the second time he’d said my name out loud and though it still wasn’t something special about him saying my name, I stilled shivered and my heart started to beat even faster than it already did. If Alec heard it, he didn’t show it. Jane, on the other hand, gave me a ferocious gaze and feared that she would use her gift on me. The others must have seen Jane’s gaze, because they all took a step closer to me and Alec gave Jane a quick glance. For a second she froze and her eyes turned blank, as she couldn’t see anything. And then I realized that Jane couldn’t actually see anything, Alec was using his gift on her.

“Give me my senses back”, she hissed. Alec shook his head in something that looked like amusement. He put a hand on my shoulder and sighed. Jane immediately blinked and looked at her brother. She looked like she wanted to scratch out his eyes and make him eat them, but she knew he’d only numb her again. Her lip started to pout out a little when she realized that she’d lost, but she quickly regained her poker face and secured her cloak before she went outside. Felix, Santiago and Demetri quickly followed her, but when I intended to join them, Alec held me back and closed the door right in front of me.

“Wait a minute”, he said and put both his hands on my shoulders. My heart immediately started to race and I blushed. For a split second Alec touched my cheek, staring at my face. I froze and stared back, but the moment vanished just as quickly as it had come and Alec straightened up and looked at me. His hands were back on my shoulders and I could feel his cold fingers through my thin cardigan.

“This mission is not simple. It will be hard for you and once you’re in, you can’t get out. This is serious, and even though it’s your first time, no one will show you mercy on the field. Do you get it?” Alec’s grip around my shoulders had hardened and it almost hurt. His words made me speechless and the only answer I could give him was a nod. What was this mission about? What was so hard that I couldn’t handle it? Did he not want me on the team or was there actually something dangerous?

“Do you understand?” he repeated and looked me deep in the eye. The fiery color in his made me brave and I nodded once more.

“Yes, I understand”, I said and tried to look as serious as possible - though it was very hard. Alec was standing very close, and it was hard to focus on anything other than that. But luckily I must have looked serious enough, ‘cause Alec nodded and squeezed my shoulder once more before he let go and opened the door. Jane and the others hadn’t waited for us, so we had to take a new car. Once again, I was stuck in a car with Alec. He sat just a few inches away and I could feel his wonderful vampire smell. Every vampire had a different smell, my mother smelled like strawberries and my father smelled like sunshine. But this smell, I’d never smelled before. It was a mix between mint, pine, lemon balm and licorice. Whatever it was, it smelled wonderful. The human perfume shops would have died to have this fragrance in their stores.

The car’s soft engine hummed quietly in the background as we drove to our next location. I wondered where we were going, but I didn’t dare to ask. Alec seemed to be deep in his thoughts as well and he looked like he didn’t want to be interrupted. As the car slowed down, I could see a small village appear in front of us. The black SUV that Jane and the others had taken was parked outside a wonderful stone house with a little garden outside of it. It was absolutely beautiful and I stared at the small meadow of flowers in front of the car. As I stepped out, a thick smell of roses, orchids, sun flowers, tulips and a hundred other kinds of flowers. I looked at Alec and hoped for him to like the flowers as much as I did, but he didn’t even bother to look at them. When I looked around, none of the other vampires did. It was like they didn’t even notice the beautiful masterpiece that lay before their feet. I wanted to say something, but all five of them had a serious look on their faces and I realized that this wasn’t the time to ask them about the flowers. I wondered why they were all so tense, was it the mission? If it was, I didn’t want to know. Before we went inside the house, Alec grabbed something from the back of the car and threw it to me. I caught it in simple reflex and gave it a quick look. A chocked expression appeared on my face. The piece of fabric in my hand that Alec had tossed over the car was nothing less than my cloak. I hadn’t seen it sense I’d put it away in the back of my closet. Apparently, Alec had found it. The fact that he’d gone through my lingerie drawer to find it, made me blush. Some of those lingerie’s were pretty… revealing.

“T-thank you”, I stuttered and ignored the nausea I felt when I put it on. Even though I was a part of the Volturi, the cloaks would always symbolize fear and death. Surprisingly, the cloak was really comfortable and kept me warm and safe from the wind. When I looked at Alec he gave me a look that seemed to say are you okay, I nodded at him and smiled – hoping to secure him that I was fine.

“Let’s go”, he said and I suddenly felt anxious.  


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0